Writer’s Tees

I’m a superstitious person.  I don’t step on cracks, open umbrella’s inside, and when I’m losing  I’m not above chanting “spooky dust” repeatedly under my breath to jinx my opponent.  No, it’s not cheating, no matter what my mom says.

I have a lot of superstitions when it comes to writing as well.  Scooby Doo is on my desk looking out for me like a guardian food hound.  I always make a playlist for when I am working on a story. I know what you are thinking,  “Hey Marika, that sounds like PROCRASTINATING not writing. ” To which I say,  procrastinating is all part of the ritual.  I listen to it when  I’m stuck, when I go on my walks, and sometimes when I’m writing.  Right now, I am working  on something a little creepy for my writers group, so that means a lot of Don’t Fear The Reaper, and Devil Woman, because seriously, no playlist is complete without some  cow bell and Cliff Richard.  I have a favorite glass, I have a favorite snack ( Cheerios! ) and I have a favorite shirt.  At least I used to.

My writing shirt is nothing glamorous.  Basically, it’s a 3 quarter sleeve baseball shirt, red sleeves, that is just really comfortable.  I didn’t wear it every day because how gross is that – but it seemed that when I did my best work i was always wearing it. So I started wearing it when I needed a little mojo, and that seemed to work too.  It has seen better days.  I have written holes in it, and there was a tragic  Cherry Walmart off Brand Crystal Light incident that we don’t speak off.  Last week I knew it was time, my writing shirt  needed to be put out to pasture.  But how to find a replacement?  None of my other shirts seemed right … and I needed something special from the get go. I wasn’t sure what I was really looking for, I knew  I needed something not too expensive, and  something  that would grab me and say “Marika, I’m the shirt you need – I am busting with creativity each and every day.”   So I went to Shirt Caddy, because that is where those shirts live. That led me to  Tshirtbordello -  just the name told me something special was waiting for me.

mudder 016

Pretty cunning, don’t you think? 

Jayne Cobb ALWAYS speaks to me.

…and since I shop smart….

mudder 014

I’m happy to report that Jayne is doing exactly what he’s supposed  to do, I have high hopes for Ash,  and no cherry Walmart off brand Crystal Light  in the vicinity.

Hail to the king, baby.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Writer’s Tees

  1. Robert Edler says:

    Frankly, I’d be afraid to read anything I wrote wearing those scary shirts. (Or drinking those beverages.)

  2. Hmmm. It’s possible I need to find my writing shirt…

Leave a Reply

